New Elected Officials Get to Work

Ohio has six new statewide officeholders this year including Governor Mike DeWine; Lt. Governor Jon Husted; Attorney General Dave Yost; Secretary of State Frank LaRose; Auditor of State Keith Faber; and Treasurer of State Robert Sprague.

The Ohio House of Representatives has elected a new Speaker and there are more than 30 new freshman members of the House.

Larry Householder (R-Glenford) who previously served as Speaker from 2001-2004, won the support of the majority of the House of Representatives over former Speaker Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell).  The House Democrats were instrumental in helping Speaker Householder win and his supporters in both the Republican and Democrat caucuses have received coveted roles on House committees.

The House Health Committee will be chaired by Representative Derrick Merrin (R-Monclova Township).  One physician, Beth Liston (D-Dublin), sits on that committee.  In the Senate, the Health, Human Services and Medicaid Committee will be chaired by Senator Dave Burke (R-Marysville).  They also have one physician, Senator Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City), that is a member of the Senate committee.

Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) continues to lead in the Ohio Senate. He has laid out his Senate priorities this week. Expect to see activity relating to Reducing Agency Regulation; Lake Erie Protection; Criminal Sentencing Reform; School Construction; Human Trafficking; Opioids; Military Families; and Opportunity Zone legislation to generate economic development.

Governor DeWine will release his budget priorities by March 15th and the focus of the Ohio Legislature will be passing the two-year Ohio budget by July 1, 2019. The bill will contain funding for Ohio government entities and programs, but will also include policy that could impact our membership relating to Medicaid, insurance mandates, pharmacy benefit managers, price transparency, the opioid epidemic and other important issues. We will monitor and report on issues of importance throughout the budget process.

Governor DeWine has appointed every member of his cabinet except the Department of Health. We anxiously await his choice and will report on it as it is announced.  The Department of Health houses the Radiation Advisory Council (RAC) which oversees important work impacting radiology in the state.  Dr. John Olsen represents the Ohio State Radiological Society as a member of the RAC.

More to come.  Check back often for updates.


*[Reminder: Please consider a donation to the ORSPAC in the $25 – $250 range.  The ORSPAC needs your support today to help ensure a bright tomorrow for Ohio’s professional radiology community.  Just click the secure link below.]

>> Donate to PAC

*The ORSPAC cannot accept corporate contributions.  All contributions are voluntary.

Thank you for investing in the future of our profession. We are stronger together.